The ACADEMIA procedure is structured into 21 Accreditation Commissions, 1 Commission for the Recognition of Equivalence in Universities of EU Member States and 5 Review Commissions.

The appointment and renewal of the Accreditation Commissions is regulated in Articles 4.3 and 16.6 of RD 1312/2007.

In order to balance workloads and improve application processing times, Order UNI/1191/2020 on the restructuring of the Accreditation Commissions was published in December 2020. This restructuring came into effect in April 2021.